Skip directly to content

Vale of White Horse DC elects new Leader, Chair, Cabinet & Committees

on Thu, 16/05/2019 - 1:40pm

Cllr Emily Smith is the new Leader of Vale of White Horse District Council.  

Cllr Smith has represented the Botley ward on the council for four years and was previously the opposition group leader. She was elected as the Leader of the Council at the Vale Annual Council meeting on Wednesday 15 May. 

The new Chair of Vale of White Horse District Council is Cllr Margaret Crick, who was voted in at the same meeting.  Her Deputy Chair is CllrJerry Avery. 

Cllr Emily Smith, Leader of Vale of White Horse District Council, said: “I’m honoured to have been elected as leader of the council.  

"The Vale of White Horse is a wonderful place to live, work and visit but we have some significant challenges ahead. The government spending review, due in the autumn, will impact on every single one of our service areas, and will require significant work to understand and mitigate for any reductions. 

“I will be asking cabinet members, to explore new ways to tackle the big issues effecting Vale residents; making sure development is more environmentally and socially sustainable, actively pursuing ways to deliver truly affordable housing and helping our market towns to be healthy and thriving community centres.

“While the challenges are significant, I am confident that the work we’re planning over the coming months will put us all in a good position to meet those challenges.”

Cllr Smith has appointed Cllr Debby Hallett as Deputy Leader – Cllr Hallett also represents the Botley ward and has done so since she was first elected to the council in 2011; she spent many years as the Chair of the Scrutiny Committee and also spent time serving as leader of the opposition group. 

Cllr Smith has appointed her new cabinet:

  • Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Corporate Services – Cllr Debby Hallett
  • Cabinet Member for Finance – Cllr Andy Crawford
  • Cabinet Member for Community Services – Cllr Helen Pighills
  • Cabinet Member for Legal and Democratic – Cllr Neil Fawcett
  • Cabinet Member for Development and Regeneration – Cllr Bethia Thomas
  • Cabinet Member for Planning – Cllr Catherine Webber
  • Cabinet Member for Partnership and Insight – Cllr Judy Roberts
  • Cabinet Member for Housing Needs, Community Safety and Licensing – Cllr Ruth Molyneaux
  • Cabinet Member for Environmental and Technical Services – Cllr Jenny Hannaby
  • The following councillors were named as chairmen of the council's committees.

Planning committee

  • Chair: Cllr Bob Johnston
  • Vice-chair: Cllr Val Shaw

Scrutiny committee

  • Chairman: Cllr Nathan Boyd

Joint Scrutiny Committee

  • Co-Chairman: Cllr Nathan Boyd

Joint Audit and Governance Committee

  • Chairman: Cllr Simon Howell

Community Governance and Electoral Issues Committee

  • Chair: Cllr David Grant
  • Vice-chair: Cllr Sarah Medley

Joint Staff Committee

  • Chair: Cllr Debby Hallett
  • Vice-chair: Cllr Emily Smith

General Licensing Committee, and Licensing Acts Committee

  • Chair: Cllr Alison Jenner
  • Vice-chair: Cllr Ron Batstone

Appeals Panel 

  • Chair: Cllr Alison Jenner

From an article on the Vale's website; see the original <here>.